Skip to content

Three of the Most Erotic/Disturbing Scenes In Literature

February 14, 2010

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I figured, how about I share some of literature’s steamiest stuff? I purposely didn’t include the drivel of romance novels I read in my middle school years (all satisfyingly erotic, albeit homogeneous in plot), but here’s a list of some of the best erotic scenes I’ve read, largely in literary fiction. They all turned me on, though at times I was as disturbed as I was aroused:

1.   Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov: Okay, we get it, Humbert is a jerk, but one of my favorite passages of all time is also Humbert’s most erotic, and most selfless. It describes his desire to “bury his face” under the skirt of Lolita, his nymphet, who is completely uninterested:

Sometimes…while Lolita would be haphazardly preparing her homework, sucking a pencil, lolling sideways in an easy chair with both legs over its arm, I would shed all my pedagogic restraint, dismiss all our quarrels, forget all my masculine pride–and literally crawl on my knees to your chair, my Lolita! You would give me one look—one furry grey question mark of a look: “Oh no, not again” (incredulity, exasperation); for you never deigned to believe that I could, without any specific designs, ever crave to bury my face in your plaid skirt, my darling! The fragility of those bare arms of yours, a folded colt, and take your head between my unworthy hands, and pull the temple-skin back on both sides, and kiss your chinesed eyes, and—”Pulease, leave me alone, will you,” you would say, “for Christ’s sake leave me alone….

2.    The Hotel New Hampshire by John Irving: Among other things, the novel revolves around John and Franny, a brother and sister who lust after each other. They finally decide they will get their lust out of their system by conditioning themselves, aka,  having sex until it turns unbearable. This struggle to force their love for each other out by engaging in a painful, day’s-long, continuous orgy is immediately poignant and strange:

It is improper to describe making love to one’s sister. Does it suffice to say it got “great,” and it became even greater?…

‘Are you sore?’ I whispered. ‘Of course I’m sore! she said. ‘But you better not stop. If you stop, I’ll kill you,’ Franny told me. She would have to, I realized later. In a way—if I had stayed in love with her—she would have been the death of me; we would have been the death of each other….

‘There!’ she cried, when she felt me shaking. ‘There, there,’ she said, soothingly. ‘That’s it, that’s all she wrote,’ she murmured. ‘That’s the end of it. Now we’re free. Now that’s over….’

3. “Light Breaks Where No Sun Shines” by Amy Bloom: There’s no sex in this short story about a large teenage girl who grows to find herself beautiful through the eyes of a clothing store owner named Mr. Klein. Yet the entire time I wanted her to have sexual contact with him, and I found myself supporting this semi-creepy liaison between teenage girl and older man, a masterpiece that Bloom delivers by never quite spilling all the details:

I bit into the last chocolate. ‘Here, you have some too.’ ‘No, they’re for you. They were all for you.’ ‘I’m not that hungry. Here.’ I held out the chocolate half and he lowered his head, startling me. I put my fingers up to his narrow lips and he took the chocolate neatly between his teeth. I could feel the very edge of his teeth against my fingers…

[Later, after things have ended with Mr. Klein] I took lessons from Mr. Cannetti [a piano teacher] for three years, and he served me wine-flavored cookies instead of chocolate. One day, he bent forward to push my sleeves bck over my aching wrists, and I saw my beautiful self take place in his eyes. I loved him, too.

BONUSBreaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer: Now the much-anticipated sex scene between Edward and Bella didn’t turn me on, but the notion that whenever they have sex Bella blacks out, wakes up bruised, and finds her pillow torn to shreds sound very disturbing to me. Not exactly light fare, is it? Just something I was pondering.

What literature has turned you on? Did you feel ashamed, uncomfortable? How is eroticism and sex used in literature to explore the human condition? When is it gratuitous? Also, have you read any of the books/stories I listed? How did you feel about them?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. ThisIsNotAPerson permalink
    February 15, 2010 11:00 am

    Only one I’ve read is Lolita and I still feel it was more disturbing than sexy. It’s well-written, but at the end of the day the guy was a nasty dude.

    • February 15, 2010 11:08 am

      I definitely see your angle, and I feel like there are sympathizers for either side. I’ve always managed to sympathize with Humbert and still know that what he’s doing is wrong, but I can’t help but love him for his prose, for his disease (because it is a disease). Also, this scene for me felt different from the other scenes where Humbert takes advantage of Lolita: here he’s hoping to service her instead of forcing her to service him. It doesn’t excuse his actions, but it is a touching moment.

  2. aki permalink
    October 16, 2010 10:53 am

    I really liked what you have written here! all these subtleness… rather than actual sex scenes.
    I might add my personal favorite; Gabriel Garcia Marquez ” Of Love and Other Demons”;
    I cannot use the quote since my copy itself is lost but there is a scene that a very rich marquesa buys a beautiful murato slave man and puts him in a bedroom right next to her own. While she leaves her bedroom door open, he doesn’t visit her and she becomes disappointed and locks her door. Then he enters her bedroom through window, makes love to her calling “puta, puta(whore)”… When I first read that , it gave me goose-bumps. He didn’t elaborate much but how he made me felt that way? Mr. Marquez, you are genius….

  3. Loma permalink
    May 3, 2014 9:20 pm

    I just love “ThisIsNotAPerson” and “susanamai”‘s comments. I haven’t read Lolita yet, tho I’ve seen the 1997 version yesterday. Dominiqur Swain seemed perfect for the role to me, and Jeremy Irons felt like the right Humbert as well. Just like Susana, I’ve managed to sympathize with him and I still think I’ll keep on liking him once I read the book. The movie made Lolita seem like the was the bitch (in a lot of senses; tho she really was) and Humbert was the poor guy, begging for his nymphet love. Anyway, it is a movie that will mark my teenage since it influences a lot the Lana del Rey’s lyrics.

  4. June 5, 2014 5:02 am

    First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like
    to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center
    yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Thank you!

  5. June 27, 2014 9:53 pm

    You made some good points there. I looked on the internet for
    more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views
    on this site.

  6. July 2, 2014 8:30 pm

    hi!,I really like your writing so much! proportion we keep up a
    correspondence extra about your article on AOL? I need an expert
    in this area to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Having a look forward to look
    you.

  7. July 11, 2014 1:31 pm

    This makes your blazer wearable for any occasion, whether it’s a formal event or something more
    social. Also, avoid wearing low-rise pants (even if they are the trendier alternative), as they tend to make legs look shorter than they already are.
    Women leather blazers are also available with frills
    on it to make took stunning with a perfect style statement.

  8. July 26, 2014 12:41 am

    Bruce Banner Hulk, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff Black Widow, Jeremy Renner
    as Clint Barton Hawkeye and Samuel L. You will need a strong shoelace of piece
    of leather for this. In a nut shell, creatine basically gives you that extra bit of
    energy to hit that final rep which will trigger effective muscle
    growth.

  9. July 26, 2014 12:51 am

    Next, the entire net planet may be at your fingertips straight from the lounger.
    You need to follow the UFO into space and pick up every power-up that you can find while
    trying very hard not to fall. By using the Android program, the mobile apps developers have ability to make user friendly mobile
    applications quickly as well as quickly.

  10. August 1, 2014 5:56 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright
    violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems
    a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.
    Do you know any solutions to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d truly appreciate it.

  11. August 1, 2014 5:57 am

    I believe that is among the most important information for me.
    And i’m happy studying your article. However should remark on few general issues, The web site taste
    is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Excellent activity, cheers

  12. August 1, 2014 6:05 pm

    excellent points altogether, you just received a new reader.
    What would you recommend about your put up that you made some days ago?
    Any positive?

  13. August 2, 2014 12:22 am

    Truly when someone doesn’t know after that its up to other users that
    they will assist, so here it takes place.

  14. August 2, 2014 12:30 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on insurance. Regards

  15. August 2, 2014 5:53 am

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really
    long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say great blog!

  16. August 2, 2014 12:05 pm

    Your style is very unique compared to other people I have
    read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this page.

  17. August 5, 2014 9:59 pm

    Very good write-up. I definitely appreciate this site.

    Stick with it!

  18. August 15, 2014 7:15 am

    Searching and searching the net all day for something like this.
    Just want to say Thanks!

  19. August 15, 2014 3:53 pm

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a regular basis, this site is in fact nice and the
    users are in fact sharing pleasant thoughts.

  20. August 17, 2014 4:45 pm

    Because at the time. This has in store for investors in Business Insider reached out to the
    stratosphere. A shoe or a sportsperson by hobby,
    and they were tie-dyed. We’ll see iff itt means.
    Even though thee company in 2006, faster Jordan helped
    the Bulls a 3-2 lead over the court. Right now there’s a pair of
    magical wedding shoes. When you buy have a few ideas gleaned from scouring Seattle’s best shoe insert for
    you. Vilanch faster outweighs Kobe by over ninety % with Muscle
    Balance Therapy?

  21. August 20, 2014 3:38 pm

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your website by accident, and I am shocked
    why this twist of fate didn’t happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  22. August 23, 2014 11:07 am

    I’d like to find out more? I’d love to find out some additional information.

  23. September 5, 2014 2:03 pm

    You need to be paid twitter fans $7. Sina reported tbat it was a b**ch and Kendall was super nice.
    This elimintes the next level of fighters like Cheick Kongo,
    Ben Rothwell and Brendan Schaub from being the most isn’t the way she
    looks fat inn a tax bill. But the alternatives are not only fresh matches, butt
    you can ask Conan questions and stuff while you’re
    at it. In honor of Valentine’s twitter fans Day, ffor the
    visitors?

  24. September 5, 2014 11:27 pm

    Definitely believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the
    simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while
    people think about worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  25. September 10, 2014 6:06 am

    It’s actually a cool and useful piece of information.
    I’m happy that you shared this useful info with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  26. September 14, 2014 8:05 am

    It’s remarkable to visit this web site and reading the views of all friends about this piece of writing, while I am also zealous of getting
    knowledge.

  27. September 22, 2014 7:55 pm

    Very quickly this web page will be famous among all blogging people, due to it’s nice articles

  28. September 29, 2014 10:14 am

    The third step is to place a burger patty at the top, lock the outer band plunger
    into spot and press down again, creating a seal between your two
    portions of meat to create a stuffed patty.

  29. September 30, 2014 8:52 pm

    If so, have a look at some excellent free information about
    Freezing SORES Denny Bodoh offers you several amazing Cool SORE
    treatment remedies that basically work.

  30. October 4, 2014 4:46 am

    Thanks to my father who stated to me on the topic of this website, this
    web site is really remarkable.

  31. October 7, 2014 9:45 pm

    After I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    from now on whenever a comment is added I get four
    emails with the same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from
    that service? Many thanks!

  32. October 8, 2014 5:56 pm

    You should make certain your chosen valuable metals Company
    is obtaining the coins for we inside your IRA.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

