Skip to content

This Just In: 28 Books for 2009

December 21, 2009

I always think I never read, and then somebody asks me hey, how many books do you think you read and then I realize HOLY #^%T&, maybe I’m not an illiterate after all! I suppose must of the reason why I feel as if I never read anything is because most of the stuff I read is for school, and it doesn’t matter how enjoyable I find it, it’s still your job to read it, so it almost doesn’t count. Also, I’m a big proponent of reading modern literature, of supporting the newbies and debuts and all that good stuff, but then I make a list and realize I might as well have been a proponent of name something cool and insidious here, because apparently it didn’t matter a little dinky bit. So okay, here goes, my list for 2009 in no particular order, and who knows, I’ll update you if I manage to squeeze in one more:

Books I Read For 2009

*indicates book read for school; + indicates favorites of the year
  1. *+Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  2. *Bartleby The Scrivener by Herman Melville
  3. *Summer by Edith Wharton
  4. +The Purity Myth: How America’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women by Jessica Valenti
  5. EEEEE EEE EEEE by Tao Lin
  6. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
  7. Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  8. *+The Places In Between by Rory Stewart
  9. *Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace One School at a Time by David Oliver Relin and Greg Mortenson
  10. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  11. *+No Exit by Jean Paul Sartre
  12. *+Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
  13. *The Seagull by Anton Chekov
  14. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  15. *A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen
  16. *Hedda Gabbler by Henrik Ibsen
  17. *+The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga
  18. *+A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  19. *+Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  20. *A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Mohammed Hanif
  21. *Anil’s Ghost by Michael Ondaatje
  22. *Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  23. *Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  24. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  25. *The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
  26. *Turn of the Screw by Henry James
  27. Shoplifting From American Apparel by Tao Lin
  28. *Taliban: Militant Islam, Oil and Fundamentalism in Central Asia by Ahmed Rashid

So, what books did you read this year? Are you as disappointed by the results (and number) as I am? Well why don’t you tell me and, while you’re at it, promise you won’t ever read a book my Edith Wharton? I swear, the woman kills brain cells. BRAIN CELLS. And believe me, I like my brain cells.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

