Skip to content

The How Many Awesome Things Can You Read At Once Reading Challenge, or, The Triumvirate Challenge 2010:

January 17, 2010

I'm going to be doing a lot of this for the next 11.5 months....

After feeling so disappointed by my 2009 reading list that I wanted to roll around the floor crying babies all over the place (that right, folks, my pain was akin to birthing large, 8lbs babies from my tear ducts), I’ve decided to give myself a TRIUMVIRATE CHALLENGE. When I say this what I really mean is, a really difficult challenge that I doubt I’ll be able to complete and which only happens to have three conditions (plus a 4th one that I’m pretending doesn’t exist). Now, I combined this challenge with two other challenges: the New Author Challenge at Literary Escapism, and the Short Story Reading Challenge at Kate’s Book Blog, which means that, you guessed it, my challenge involves not only debut authors but also…..short stories! But before you get too excited, lemme give you a bit of gristle to choke on:

The How Many Awesome Things Can You Read At Once Reading Challenge, or, The Triumvirate Challenge 2010:

  1. Read 10 debut authors.
  2. Read 10 short story collections
  3. Read 10 books written by a chick
  4. And…make 5 of those books do ALL OF THE ABOVE.

BONUS: Write a review about EACH BOOK! Muahahahahahahahahahahaha. Excited yet?

I chose to do this challenge because I feel like these are the three overlooked categories in literature. Sure I considered reading foreign novels, or only reading books written in 2010 or fun stuff like that. But since I’m pretty poor and all the books sitting on top of my bookshelf happen to be a few short story collections anyway, I figured why not? And since women are apparently not manly enough to get into the top 100 best books of 2009, I figured, why not prove em wrong? And, since I plan on being one of those debut writers if my book ever hits the shelves (I give myself 2-20yrs time), then why not a) learn a few tricks and b) seethe enviously as I read each word? That was the thought anyhow.

So, what do you guys think? Do you want to join me in my quest? Do you just want to laugh at my misfortune? Do you want to laugh, point, judge mercilessly, and call me a wimp for not setting a lofty enough goal? You decide!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. da_euphinator permalink
    January 22, 2010 12:06 am

    But the only books I want you to read are The Sound and the Fury and the Picture of Dorian Gray, and they’re none of those things (well, Dorian was technically his debut novel). Moreover, they’re incredibly sexist, so they might be negative points on your Empowermentometer.

    Also, why the short stories? Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but why the particular emphasis?

    On the other hand, did you know Jane Austen was Samuel Beckett’s favorite writer? How terrifying is that? Man, chick authors suck. Except for maybe Holly Black. And Stephanie Meyer. Good stuff.

    (And now let me say something that really doesn’t belong here at all but rather under the post about sexism in literature and whatnot. Almost all of the Western canon is held up to the standard of one Bill Shakespeare, who was as sexist [and gay] as anyone else around then. (And then the revolution of the modern American canon came in the guise of another man absolutely enthralled with manliness and his own branch of sexism [and gay], Hemingway.) It’s deeply unsurprising that current Western literature is more entrenched in sexism than racism, classism or homophobia, because everything we know, we learned from Shakespeare, and all of his follies sit with us today.)

    • January 22, 2010 10:10 am

      I don’t mind reading ‘sexist’ literature. Sometimes it’s even more interesting than politically correct lit. I just don’t know if I’ll have time.

      Short stories because no one reads them. And that’s what I’m trying to do with this challenge–try to read those unappreciated markets. I only realized later that I should have done Minority Lit (books written by Blacks, Hispanics, Asians), but I think I can always save that for next year or something.

      I’ve always really disliked a lot of the classic female writers. They don’t interest me, don’t represent me, and I think that’s another reason why I started this challenge for myself (and anyone who wants to join me). Because I want to find female authors I like, and I want to try to make as many of them the contemporary ones.

      Speaking of authors who write YA or more ‘simplistic’ books, I read a great article on why they have their own merit. Good stuff. I don’t think this is it, but it’s similar: why i love crappy books or, if you want something funny: how to write badly well

      I think lit, movies, life, are still entrenched with prejudice. We just try to repress it, try to make sure it doesn’t come out of our mouths.

Trackbacks

  1. Books on my Bookshelf (And How Long They’ve Been There) «
  2. Special Topics In Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl «
  3. Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman «
  4. Bad Behavior by Mary Gaitskill «

Leave a Reply

