Skip to content

Seeing Mary Gaitskill Tonight!

March 18, 2010

So I’m on a role with the whole going to writing/author events (last week I saw Tao Lin and Lore Segal talk about novellas) because tonight I’m going to be seeing Mary Gaitskill at The Center for Fiction talking about “WHY WE READ.”

I don’t know why we read, so I thought I’d educate myself. I mean, I know why I read (escape, release, education) but I want to know more about why others feel compelled (and maybe why some don’t).

Anyhow, Mary Gaitskill is a pretty cool chick and I’m reading one of her short story collections, Bad Behavior, which I’m nearly done with and will post about soon. Her work’s been seen in such PRESTIGIOUS places like The New Yorker, Harper’s Magazine, Esquire, The Best American Short Stories (1993) and blah blah blah. So basically she’s awesome. Oh, and yeah, did I mention one of her short stories became the basis for the movie Secretary, with James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhal? Now that’s HOT.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

