Skip to content

You Should Read: The End Of Blogging As We Now Know It by Molly Gaudry

March 24, 2010

You Should Read is a new weekly Wednesday short where I suggest short stories and poems on the web to bide a little time on this dreadful–when will Friday come?–24hrs in the middle of the week.

First thing you imagine, I’m sure, is that this is a nonfiction article. Yeah, me too. This is a actually a short story from the now defunct Eyeshot, a “semi-literary magazine” that keeps its archives open for viewing. I read this story last night while going through those archives, searching frantically for this story I remember liking a whole lot (I never found it, alas). So as a result I’ve decided to show you this piece, which I liked, and not just because the title was super catchy. (Titles are VERY IMPORTANT. You have been warned.) “The End Of Blogging As We Now Know It” is written in the third person plural form popularized by The Virgin Suicides and Then We Came to the End, except instead of stemming from the perspective of teenage boys from suburbia or office mates, “The End Of Blogging” is told from the perspective of blog fans mourning the loss of their favorite blogger, who has just written her last post. Feel relevant? Ya better believe it.

First  Line(s): “She was prolific, sure, considering how old she may or may not have been and how long she’d been at it, and we know she published under ten different pseudonyms, at least.”

Favorite Line: “She was obsessed, obviously, with the idea of herself as an enigma.”

Reading Time: 5min

Level of Enjoyment: I get mad when bloggers I love call it quits (oh Miss Snark, why oh why!?) so I felt ouch ouch ouch empathy for those poor blog fans!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 7:12 pm

    Hey, that’s mine! I ❤ Eyeshot and miss its offerings. Alas. Thanks for blogging this one . . .

Leave a Reply

