Skip to content

You Should Read: Beautiful Crying by Amy Berkowitz

May 12, 2010

You Should Read is a weekly Wednesday short where I suggest short stories and poems on the web to bide a little time on this dreadful–when will Friday come?–24hrs in the middle of the week.

So before I tell you what to read, I have to gaze adoringly at this picture to my left. Oh my goodness I love this picture! Anyone knows where it comes from? It’s so alive, raw.  Anyhow…I read this poem the other day via Matthew Savoca. It’s called “Beautiful Crying” by Amy Berkowitz and I don’t know anything about her but I liked this poem. I think it was because a few lines in the poem reminded me of this line I wrote a little bit ago in my WIP:

Favorite Line from “Beautiful Crying”: “I say what I’m sad about out loud in French/And it sounds beautiful because I am triste”
My line from superior WIP: “Tant pis, she sighs, hoping it means what she thinks it means, that is, if she remembers high school French correctly”

I don’t know, maybe I’m just overthinking things. But I did really like the poem, and the general feeling of ‘oh, i get that, i understand’ that I got while I was reading it.

Reading Time: 1 minute

Level of Enjoyment: A nod, the exhalation of “okay.” The nice feeling of being able to feel good on a Wednesday even though it’s not Friday yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 12:00 pm

    hi susana. this is my favorite poem on the internet right now. amy berkowitz is great. she is the founder of the small press “MONDO BUMMER” – mondobummer.blogspot.com
    i’m glad you included this in your You Should Read segment. i hope more people read this poem

  2. May 14, 2010 2:45 pm

    I hope so too! And thanks for giving me a little more info about her, the small press, etc…I plan on stalking her thoroughly 🙂

Leave a Reply

