Skip to content

The Rumpus Book Club

May 27, 2010

When I heard about the chance to get cool new books in the mail before they’ve been officially released for only $25 smackaroos a month, you bet I couldn’t pass that offer down. I mean, what better way to support new authors, what better way to reconcile my OCD indecisiveness over what I should read next, and c’mon people, it’s from The Rumpus, and they know good books.

Join The Rumpus Book Club. We get the opportunity to read unreleased books, participate in an online discussion with the author at the end of the month, and, as the folks at The Rumpus have rightly emphasized, WE get the opportunity to be reviewers. “Rather than waiting to be told what books are approved for cultural consumption,” WE get to judge which books are good and which, not so much.

The first four books have been announced for this summer (Citrus County above is their first book for June). Am I psyched that August will feature Tao Lin’s much-anticipated novel, Richard Yates? Maybe. Am I even more excited about reading authors I’ve never been introduced to before? Definitely.

Bring it on, Rumpus. Bring it on.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 9:24 am

    My wife & I were talking the other day about the future of books, and she says no one young is reading novels anymore, the next generation is focused on gadgets, technology, and what they read is always online or digitally generated. I this is somewhat true, but I also think a lot of people who read books use the net so they can connect with others who read books, and that books have a different future, but a strong future nevertheless.

    The Rumpus, a site I’ve discovered recently, is one such place that pushes the book forward.

    Also, I see you’ve got Deslisle’s Pyongyang on the sidebar. Great book. When I lived in S. Korea I visited the Truce Village on a military tour, got to literary “step” over into N. Korea, and be in the country for about 30 seconds. It’s a really messed up country.

    Best,
    C

  2. June 1, 2010 2:37 pm

    Well, hopefully I can represent the small percentage of folks who do still read? I admit I use my computer and the internet more than I’d like to admit (see my post “Life Without Computers”) but between school and my personal reading and the fact that there’s nothing like the smell of a book….no, I don’t think I’m ever going to become an avid e-book reader or someone who simply reads online news articles.

    I love The Rumpus too. Usually I’m not the first person to jump for joining a book club, or getting a subscription to this or that, but this one seemed like a real opportunity that I couldn’t pass up.

    A friend got Pyongyang for me for my birthday (aint nothing better than getting a book or a barnes and nobles card for your birthday!) and wow, it is something. I try to be open-minded, and to find a way to justify different forms of governments, ways of living, but it’s tragic how the North Korean government treats its citizens. Communism, while nice when everything goes right, always seems to go wrong…

    Anyhow, thanks for reading! And I’m glad you still have hope for the future of books.

Trackbacks

  1. Why Can’t Barnes and Nobels Compete With Amazon? «

Leave a Reply

