Skip to content

You Should Read: The Book by Ben Loory

June 2, 2010

 

You Should Read is a weekly Wednesday short where I suggest short stories and poems on the web to bide a little time on this dreadful–when will Friday come?–24hrs in the middle of the week.

Okay so, we all know how obsessed I am with Ben Loory. I mean, he’s just fantastic, somehow I’m watching out for and whom I expect to have a short story collection or novel coming out soon or else he will suffer big time via my angry commenting. In fact, he’s already got a book coming out soon, but that’s another story. This story of Loory’s, entitled “The Book,” has a special place on my heart and NO, not just because it’s about books, though that’s always nice, but because it’s short, ‘accessible’, and feels like an awesome grown-up fable, the kind you read and think “hot diggety-dog, I am going to change my life!” And if you want to know what it’s about? Well, the first few sentences pretty much cover it.

First  Line(s): “The woman returns from the store with an armload of books. She reads them quickly, one by one, over the course of the next few weeks. But when she opens the last one, the woman frowns in surprise.

All the pages in the book are blank.

Every single one.”

Reading Time: 7min

Level of Enjoyment: HOT-DIGGETY DOG! Also, a little bit of that obligatory ‘not wanting to end’ feeling for the last few sentences.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 6:04 am

    Ben Loory’s “The Book” is an incredible story. Everything Ben writes is mind-blowingly great. I anxiously await his first book. I can’t get enough of his amazing mind!

  2. June 14, 2010 12:48 pm

    I know! Thank goodness he’s published plenty on the web to keep me occupied until that first book comes out….

Leave a Reply

