Skip to content

You Should Read: White Apple by Nick Antosca

June 16, 2010

You Should Read is a weekly Wednesday short where I suggest short stories and poems on the web to bide a little time on this dreadful–when will Friday come?–24hrs in the middle of the week.

I found this story when it was featured in an HTML Giant post arguing how when one defines a piece as ‘not safe for work’ (NSFW), one automatically judges the work’s appropriateness for the general public, thereby censoring it. So, as you can infer, White Apple by Nick Antosca is ‘not work appropriate,’ though I guarantee there aren’t any pictures that could get you into trouble. Now I hate psychoanalyzing what I think the story is about, so, to put it simply, it concerns a young man and his sexual relations with various women. Pretty basic, right? Yet Antosca constantly surprises with quirky and realistic scenes, starting off his piece with a literal crunch: we find a young man watching his lover eat an apple during the act. So….yeah. If you’re interested, Antosca blogs at Brothercyst.

First  Line(s): “Later in life he would remember her as the fruit sex girl.”

Reading Time: 7min

Level of Enjoyment: My shoulders ruffled restlessly, encouraging my feet to leap from their perch and flee.

No comments yet

Leave a comment